The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

(ALAS THERE BE SPOILERS AHEAD)

I’ve been a nerdfighter for a while, and I tend to spend my off time laughing and musing on the vlogbrothers videos. I’ve stumbled upon tumblr posts and Pinterest pins highlighting some of the golden moments of vlogbrother history and laughed along with them. However, I have yet to read a book by John Green. Of course, it’s not like it’s a requirement that I read and love one/all of his books in order to be part of the nerdfighter community, but I figured that I should at least give it a try.

This actually isn’t the first time I tried to start one of John Green’s novels, but it is the first time that I’ve tried with the expectation to finish. It’s already been spoiled for me many times through tumblr posts and Buzzfeed articles, so I went into it with no expectation to be surprised. But I was surprised. By how average it was (sorry nerdfighteria!). Seriously it’s a 2.5/5 star book to me. I was never really interested in young adult romance novels anyway so I wasn’t expecting to be blown away by it, but now I’m just angry and disappointed in its averageness. I could never really get into the story as the characters weren’t super believable for me. I’m not talking about the terminal illness part, I’m talking about the seemingly random bits of eloquence from (quite literally) everyone. The quotes themselves were great, I just didn’t think that they fit in the book or with the character who said them; it was kind of like hearing a grade-schooler quoting a not-as-well-known Shakespearean play like King Lear or something and then giving a perfect college essay response to some question related to parenthood. In and of itself, that’s great, and I’m sure that 3rd grader would be praised for their precociousness, but it would still seem a bit odd,at least to me anyway.

Since the ending was essentially spoiled for me several times, it didn’t hit me that hard (also, it’s practically expected pretty early on in my opinion, so even if I didn’t know, it wouldn’t have taken me long to figure it out). The part that hit me the hardest was (SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER unless you peruse tumblr all the time) right before Augustus dies, when Isaac and Hazel give a pre-funeral for Augustus. Their eulogies were quite touching and I had to keep myself from crying while eating lunch. But no other part really stuck out for me. I don’t see how this has such a huge fan-base with emotional readers and such, but I’m sure there’s a reason somewhere (maybe within the movie which I still haven’t seen neither am I rushing to see it). As for my nerdfighter status, I will never give up on watching the vlogbrothers videos, I just might not read their books that much.

Leave a Reply

