Bumped by Megan McCafferty

bumped

This is one of the books that I read halfway and hated, or at least strongly disliked. It is set in a future United States where a virus has rendered all females over 18 sterile. This makes girls between the ages of 14-18 precious because they are the only ones who can procreate. Now, the fashion is to sport a baby bump and look “Fertilicious”; it’s practically a reversal from nowadays. “Bumping” is how a female would get money; she would sign a contract with a couple who wants a child and then be matched with a “perfect” male to bump with, conceive and receive profit. She would also have the option of becoming a professional bumper.

The story begins with Melody, a 16 year old prepping herself to bump for a couple. She has all of the desired characteristics, she is athletic, intelligent, blonde, blue-eyed, and the perfect age. Then all is changed when her twin sister Harmony, shows up on her doorstep from Goodside, a religious community bent on condemning how society has profited from and sullied pregnancy and sex.

And this was about as far as I got. Harmony and Melody have a series of less-than-sisterly interactions and Harmony tries to get used Otherside’s (where Melody lives) ways. I’ve read this book before and I tried to understand it. The vocabulary (bumping, negging, etc.) was very confusing, I could barely understand what they were saying. So I stopped reading it, then picked it up again much later on hoping I would understand it more. I did understand more. But I stopped in the exact same place, where Harmony sees the picture of Melody’s bumping partner, the most perfect, most desired man on the market. The book just didn’t interest me. Maybe it was how it was written or how everything was described or how the characters annoyed me, but I just couldn’t get through it. This is a series and the next book is Thumped, and I believe there will be another one as well.

Of course, I don’t want to discourage anyone from a book; if it interests you read it. The only way you’ll find out if you like it is if you read it.

Leave a Reply

